Canadian National Exhibition.

Every year, as a sure sign that summer is coming to an end, The Ex (otherwise known as CNE) opens up and runs for basically the last two weeks of August. At The Ex, you are bound to find deep fried, fatty foods and with the food scene exploding as of late, you will most definitely encounter not-your-average, atypical food creations. Whether these creations are hits or misses, that’s for you to decide.

IMG_1881This year at The Ex, Fran’s was my go-to place. Some items from their menu that really caught my eye included theĀ Thanksgiving Waffle, Big Breakfast Maple Toast, Peanut Butter Sriracha Bites, and the Brownie Cheesecake Milkshake. I tried everything listed, with the exception of the Thanksgiving Waffle and I’m quite disappointed that I didn’t. I heard it was amazing.

Of the three, my least favourite was the Big Breakfast Box. Visually, it looked nothing like the pictures I’ve seen in news articles, so that was disappointing. My box toast was over cooked, in my opinion. As a breakfast food lover, nothing about this dish impressed me. For me, this was definitely a miss which made me regret not choosing the Thanksgiving Waffle even more!

The Peanut Butter and Sriracha Bites were surprisingly good. Who would have ever thought to put these two flavour combinations together? At first bite, you really only taste the peanut butter and then right at the end the kick of the sriracha hits you. The perfect balance between sweet and spicy.

Finally, the Brownie Cheesecake Milkshake was probably my favourite out of the three. It was creamy and thick just like what a true milkshake should be. It wasn’t overly chocolate, it struck the perfect balance between chocolate and cheesecake.

After a truly fattening day at The Ex, my summer is officially over. Bring it on Fall.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat.

Leave a Reply

